Weekly Bucket

Here goes the second post to my weekly series of stuff I want to do/experience/accomplish in my lifetime.  So in keeping with the same idea of the last post, this one will be in the same category of adrenaline rushes. 

I want to Jump out of a Plane

A lot of people might think this is a stupid idea.  My dad always asks me, “Why would you want to jump out of a perfectly good airplane?”  My answer to his question is always, “Why would you not want to?”  From snowboarding, to  racing motocross, I have loved doing jumps, and having the feeling of weightlessness.  It’s a pure adrenaline rush. 

I’m not saying that I am fearless when it comes to any of this stuff.  That would be a lie.  Some motocross jumps scare me, especially ones like this (start at :12).  The adrenaline rush on those is crazy.  I am not afraid of the heights part of it, its more the landing than anything.  So skydiving would not be a problem for me, it only takes a split second to make the decision to make the leap.  The part that would scare me is the parachute not opening, which is pretty rare, even then you still have a backup parachute. 

I am trying to get the wife to do this with me.  I think it would be an awesome experience for both of us.  Not sure if I can get her on board though.  If not I have a couple of buddies that would also like to go, so it wouldn’t be by myself.  I’m thinking it would be way easier to do with friends to motivate me (or shame me into doing it). 

Am I crazy for wanting to skydive?  Has anyone experienced this and if so how was it?

5 responses to “Weekly Bucket

  • Andrea @SoOverDebt

    I’ve always wanted to skydive…. I bungee jumped a few years ago, and it was fun, but not as fun as I think it would be to jump out of a plane. Someday I’ll do it!!

  • Alice @ Dont Debt

    I would never, ever, ever, ever do that. But.. more power to you if that’s what you want. I have a huge problem with heights.

    Hubby was a paratrooper and has probably jumped hundreds of times, but of course, that was because he had to. I don’t think that right now he would.

  • debtntaxes

    @ Andrea- Bungee jumping is on the list also, but not as psyched about it as much as skydiving.

    @Alice- Thats awesome, I wish I would of went to jump school when I was in the military. Would of been fun.

  • Brian

    Have you ever considered one of those “indoor” skydiving places like they have in Vegas? It is basically a really powerful fan that gives you the freefall without the risk.

    The other option would be in you could somehow get on the vomit-comet and get some zero-g that way. I had some friends do that in college (of course they had experiments they were running at the same time) and they loved it.

    • debtntaxes

      Yah I think it would be cool to do the simulated skydiving. I think if I am ever in a city that offers that I would do it. I know the wife would probably do it for sure also. I would still like to do the real thing though.

Leave a Reply

