No Time

This weekend was a busy one, mostly just doing some spring cleaning and getting the house ready for todays appraisal.  So I didn’t have much time to blog.  Hopefully the time we spent will be worth it though and our refinance gets approved. 

I’m really excited about the rest of the year.  Motocross season is coming up and I need to get some new gear.   Hopefully I will be able to work overtime to pay for those things, really just a new helmet (previous one has been through many crashes) and a new pair of boots.  I should be able to get both for under $400.  The boots I will be able to get cheaper online, but I would like to buy the helmet local, kind of important to have a good fit.  It can get expensive but I love it and the wife is my biggest fan. 

The title of the post says “No Time”, which is something I always feel I am lacking.  It doesn’t matter what it is, I still always wish there was more time.  I am horrible at managing my time (the wife reminds me of this a lot), I need to get better at this and kind of start “budgeting” my time.  Allocating a set number of minutes/hours to what I do.  One thing I def have to start budgeting time towards is working out.  Motocross is physically intense and I am not even close to being in shape.  I tell myself every year that I’m going to get into MX shape, but I never do.  Maybe this will be the year.

Do you manage your time well?  Or are you like me and need to start budgeting time?

10 responses to “No Time

  • BrokeElizabeth

    I was doing pretty well this year… but then life happened :/. Oh well, I only have 4 weeks left in the semester, and hopefully I can kick all the personal drama and get back to my schedule next year.

  • Alice @ Dont Debt

    One thing I learned many years ago was that there really is no such thing as ‘time management’, it’s really ‘self management’. We all get the same amount of hours in our day.

    I think you need to really go with your thought process of ‘budgeting’ time. When we think about spending money (at least now, trying to pay off debt) we are very careful about where it goes and try to make sure that we’re not spending it frivolously. We should also give the same thought to spending our time. I don’t want to look back on my life and realize that I spent some exorbitant amount of time sitting in front of the television. I realized this a few years ago and have pretty much cut out all of the sitcoms on network television. Hubby and I do watch TV, but it’s mostly sports like basketball (Go UK Wildcats) or golf. I’m learning golf so I like to see the way they stand and swing.

  • infinitysymbol

    Sounds like someone needs to get in the gym… you can start by doing pushups/situps and walking/jogging if you don’t have a gym. Of course I recommend joining one so you can work out with weights, as that will produce the most results. As far as time goes, I have the same problem as you. (disorganization) I try to focus on just not thinking about it and keeping busy. I multitask the budgeting part while I am actually doing what it is I do, but I think a lot of budgeting and the like just gives you less time to do what you want. Talk to you soon, bro.

  • debtntaxes

    @Alice- I also don’t watch tv much anymore other than sports or a couple shows that the wife and I watch together. However I replaced the time I spent watching tv with stock trading and now blogging.

    @infinity- lol, yes I need to hit the gym, I do have all the equipment here to work out, weights and a smith machine. It’s in the garage and currently its not heated yet. That is a summer project.

  • The Happy Homeowner

    Oooh…I hope everything went well with the appraisal!!!

    I’m currently re-adjusting my schedule (for the 1,000th time) to account for new freelance opportunities. It’s always a balancing act for me

    • debtntaxes

      I’m not too worried about the appraisal, just worried if there will be enough comparables for it to be approved, which seems to be the only roadblock on getting this thing done.

  • Not a sack holder

    You could always try on local .. get the model of the helment .. then go online armed with the info .. .all IMO

  • debtntaxes

    Same here, I like to support local business when I can, but if they are trying to rip me off (like one of my local dirtbike dealers) than I will take my business elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

