Are We Bankrupt?

I don’t even know where to start on this topic.  I see so many similarities between what is happening in Greece and what we are doing here in the United States.  Those similarities are not good ones either.  Let’s take a look at the debt of the U.S.  http://www.usdebtclock.org/   Crazy huh!  How can we as a nation look at this and not be scared for our future.  I read not long ago in this article, http://www.factcheck.org/2011/07/fiscal-factcheck/ that for every dollar the government spends, 36 cents of that is borrowed money.  The number is up to .42 in other reports that I have read.  What in the heck is going on?  How are we going to pay that money back and why are we spending so much?

My opinion on those questions, is that politicians are only worried about the almighty vote.  All of them, both republicans and democrats.  Why can’t they just do the right thing and cut some of the spending.  Yes it will anger some taxpayers but they have an obligation to see this country succeed.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for helping out the elderly and children.  The people who are actually disabled and cannot work.  I’m also for the true idea of welfare.  The idea that it was just a crutch until that person could get back into the workforce.  Let’s face it, there are a lot of people scamming the system.

I also believe we should have a strong, fully supported military force.  I am and always will be a strong backer for the military, I am a veteran of the armed forces.  Seeing that I have a little experience in that field, I believe we could cut our defense spending by quite a bit without it effecting our soldiers and their safety.  If anyone has ever worked a government job, you know how much waste there is, how outrageously high they pay for things.  I’m not talking about cutting soldiers pay either.  I believe they do not make enough for the job that they do.  I’m talking about a toilet seat that costs $100, or a pair of gloves that costs $50 when those same gloves could be purchased for $10.  The government leases vehicles for insane amounts of money instead of straight up buying them.  My sleeping bag I was issued was valued at over $300, I loved that sleeping bag but there is no way in hell I would ever pay that much for it.

I swear there isn’t any common sense in the government these days.  I truly wish there was an amendment in our constitution that required us to have a surplus or balanced budget.  There is no reason for us to be running a deficit.  It’s not going to hurt us right this second, but for our children and grandchildren, that is another story.  I fear for them.  I don’t believe others should have to pay for our mistakes, but that’s exactly what is going to happen.

Take a look at all of the entitlement programs in our country.  Look at how much we give to other countries.  Look at what is happening in Europe, specifically Greece.  Are we really that far away from the same thing happening here? What do you think? Should our country be required to have a balanced budget?  Are we that ignorant to think we couldn’t go bankrupt?

Leave a Reply

