Paying a Fair Share a.k.a The Buffett Rule

Yesterday Congress voted on the Paying a Fair Share Act of 2012.  Just as many have predicted, it was shot down.  The President and the Democratic Party are trying to get this passed.  Basically saying that people earning more than $1 million are not paying enough taxes or at a lesser tax rate than lower-income taxpayers.  How can this be?  Well, there is a crap-ton of loopholes for one, also there is this thing called Long Term Capital Gains, which are taxed at a lower rate.  The reason for this is to encourage people to make long-term investments, therefore encouraging economic growth and stability. 

Why am I against this “Law”?  Plain and simple, this law penalizes those that are successful.    Some people have the belief that all millionaires are just trust-fund babies, ones that were just given money and never had a hard day in their life.  That statement is completely false.  Are there some that had wealth handed to them?  Yup.  Do the majority of millionaires fall into this category?  The answer would be no.  Most millionaires have worked very hard to get where they are.  They were normal people (not that they aren’t normal now), the average Joe on the street working a 9-5 like most people.  The only difference between them and the average person, is that after their 9-5 was done, they worked a couple more hours, or attended some college courses, giving up their free time, sacrificing one thing for another.  They didn’t expect anything to be handed to them, they went out and took it (not literally) by putting themselves in a situation to succeed.  This is one of the great things about the United States, everybody does have a chance to succeed.  Yah sometimes it is harder for some people, but the chance is always there, the choices just need to be made. 

A solution that I think would work:  A flat tax.  I think everybody should pay taxes.  This goes for the lowest earning individuals and also for rich peeps like Mr. Warren Buffett.  Should Mr. Buffett pay a higher tax rate because he earns more than his secretary?  I don’t think so.  I think everybody should pay the exact same rate.   Hypothetically, starting at an annual income of say $10k, everybody, and I mean everybody should pay an income tax, lets just say 15%.  That means that a person making $10k would pay $1500 in taxes for the year, and a person making $100k would pay $15k in taxes for the year.  This system, in my opinion, is fair for everybody.  The same rate is applied to all, nothing else.  No deductions for energy-efficient windows, no deductions for having a child, nothing.  This includes businesses as well.  We all know GE didn’t pay a single penny in taxes last year, which is ridiculous.  Get rid of all the loopholes, everyone lives here, so all should pay taxes.  Get rid of the IRS, because there should be no need for any refunds.  If you make $1k this week, $150 gets taken out in taxes, if you make $2k the next week, $300 gets taken out.  Simple math.   

I am not even close to earning enough money to be effected by the Buffett Rule even if it was passed.  My whole point of this post is equality.  Everybody wants equality for the most part, taxing the rich because they are successful is not equality, its class warfare.  It is discrimination against the rich.  I am definitely not rich, and I do not expect any help from the rich either (although if they wanted to throw me a couple G’s I wouldn’t be against that).   I made a choice to do what I do, to earn what I earn, and pay the bills that I agreed to pay.  I am responsible for myself and the decisions I made, nobody else is and should be.   The government sucks at money management as it is, taxing the rich to get more money isn’t going to change the governments spending habits.  How about making, and actually following, a frickin budget.


9 responses to “Paying a Fair Share a.k.a The Buffett Rule

  • debtntaxes

    The same question could be asked of you. It is a fact that this rule is discrimination against a certain class. It has nothing to do with them being rich, it has everything to do about singling out a class. If this rule would be against poor people I would be against it because it is class discrimination.

    Also, what basic human rights (of poor people)are being violated everyday?

    • C The Writer

      “Also, what basic human rights (of poor people)are being violated everyday?”

      *facepalm*

      I have no words. Just none.

      • debtntaxes

        Considering you are the one that originally said it, I figured you could enlighten me. Guess I was wrong, wouldn’t be the first time.

      • C The Writer

        Really. You can’t figure out why the rights of people living in poverty are violated?

        Please tell me you’re joking.

        You read my blog, don’t you? You can’t think of at least a few ways in which my life is made worse because I live in poverty? Rude people at my workplace, disaster if my car breaks down, not being able to live on my own, not having any savings, and sometimes not being able to afford basic bills, like the phone, or even groceries? You don’t see how all of that creates a situation where my rights are in question?

        Look, I get that you haven’t had a perfect life. I mean, it was your choice to go to the military. But in general, with very little student loans, a home of your own, and all your crap paid for, you really lack empathy.

  • Geoff

    The same thing is true here in the UK. The Chancellor knows very well that some millionaires are doing everything they can to avoid paying tax. In fact one entrepreneur on TV recently said he hired more than one accountancy firm so that he’d make sure he got his personal tax liability as low as possible. Thing is these people aren’t evading tax, just using every loophole out there to avoid it, and these loopholes need closing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

