The Love of the Wifes Life

I’ve been kind of busy/lazy the last couple of days and haven’t written a post since Monday.  I feel like I am letting my 3 readers down by not writing on a consistent schedule.  That being said, I will try my best to post at least 3 times a week. Probably Monday, Wednesday and Friday with maybe a random smaller post in-between.  This is the post that I was going to write yesterday, but was too tired to write (really just wanted to relax after a long day of driving).

I have a deep love for dirt bikes.  I’ve mentioned it in past posts and I’ll probably write about it in at least 30% of my posts continuing forward.  Trail riding, motocross, hill climbing, freestyle motocross, I love it all.  If something can be done on a dirt bike, I have aspirations to at least try it.  The wife is a huge fan of dirt bikes also, and is improving every year she rides.  As much as she likes dirt bikes, her real love is snowmobiling. 

We have been thinking about buying snowmobiles for a couple of years now.  I have been wanting to put it off because I have a feeling that once I get one, I’ll want to race snocross.  She would probably be all for that too, but I just don’t think its realistic.  Dirt bikes come pretty much ready to race, no need to modify them for a person with my skill level.  Snowmobiles on the other hand need a lot of modifications to race, and I just don’t think the added expenses will be worth it.  I’ve come to terms with this.

At the beginning of winter we started looking for snowmobiles.  We weren’t searching to hard, just randomly searching Craigslist, and the occasional newspaper ad, sometimes a local dealerships website.  As winter was drawing to an end, we started looking more actively, comparing snowmobiles to each other, by price, make/model, mileage and how old they were.  We both agreed before we started looking that we would be patient, and only buy if it wouldn’t add to our debt. 

About a week and a half ago, we found one that the wife really liked.  We thought the price was decent, the mileage was low, and the sled wasn’t that old.  Last Friday I called the owner and talked with him about the snowmobile.  Saturday I called back and told him I wanted to come look at it.  We set a date for Tuesday after he was done with work.  The wife took a vacation day (my days rotate) and we drove (3 1/2 hours) to go check it out.  When we got to his house I was impressed by how clean everything was (something I use to gauge how well a person maintains their stuff).  The sled was clean, a couple scratches which is to be expected but overall in pretty good condition.  The engine looked good, no oil stains near the exhaust, no fluid leaks, the clutch appeared fine, track and suspension also was in good condition.  We decided it was worth the price he was asking, and when compared to other sleds of the same model, it was a great deal (other sleds we have seen for the same price had 3-5k more miles on them).  We ended up paying the asking price ($3k) which is something I hate doing, but I don’t feel too bad about it considering how good of condition it is in.  Next months net worth update is going to suck, but I know the wife is happy (she actually cried when I said we were going to look at it) and that is something that I can’t put a price tag on.  Now we have to find one for me, but that can wait until after the camper and student loans are paid off.  Here is a pic of the wifes new love, it’s an 06′ Polaris Fusion 600 (you can see my baby in the background). You can click to enlarge the pic

9 responses to “The Love of the Wifes Life

  • infinitysymbol

    sexy… the joy you and your wife will get > the cost :)

  • getrichpoint

    Hello! This is my first visit to your site. Found your comment at add-vodka.com and hence landed here. should I tell you one thing? I really love your attitude towards life. You believe in living life to the fullest. I am inspired.

  • Alice @ Dont Debt

    Awesome post! I really loved the “letting my 3 readers down” part. I think all of us newbies feel pretty much the same. I’ve been lax the last little bit, too.

    This post is great because it shows that if you are careful with your money and decide beforehand to use your money wisely, you can have a quite enjoyable life and still get out of debt. The time that you and your wife spend doing activities like this together *now* will be the memories that you cherish later. You can’t use everything you have for retirement or debt payments when you have a life now. You can’t bank on good health in retirement so that you can *then* enjoy your hard work. You have to have a life now.

  • debtntaxes

    @Infinity Symbol- Thanks buds

    @Getrichpoint- Thanks, I try to enjoy life as much as possible, I’m only young once.

    @Alice- Lol, yah being new to blogging is a challenge, my readership at first was pretty good, consistantly creeping upwards, not so much lately though. I try to have a balance between fun and paying down debt, sometimes I think I lean more towards the fun side, which is ok I guess, but I also really love seeing the net worth inch towards the positive side. To a point, I think that is good, it gets us to think more about purchasing stuff, and helps us not make really stupid purchases that we won’t enjoy.

  • Well Heeled Blog

    You can count me as your 4th reader. ;) I’ve been lurking for a while but I think this is the first time I commented.

    Balance is important, although I believe at certain points in life you should tilt more towards saving or spending.

  • 444

    In all my time spent reading blogs, I’ve heard about car purchases, maybe motorcycles, maybe bikes… but I have never heard about a snowmobile purchase. Sounds like fun, though. I’d love to pass everyone on a highway traffic jam by blasting past them on a snowmobile.

  • C The Writer

    If I may humbly make a suggestion…if you want more readers, don’t be like every other money blogger out there. Do something that sets you apart. The constant stream of “I save, my emergency fund is fully funded, my mortgage is at a wonderful rate, my cars are all paid off, I do this, I do that, I never make mistakes” gets boring after awhile…

    I think my trainwreck status actually helps my blog rather than hurts it. People can relate to me more. I wonder how many people are in my exact situation and just hiding it for appearances’ sake.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

