Dream Vacation…..1 of Them

Like many people, I love to travel.  However my love for travel is basically in my head, seeing that we haven’t been on a big vacation since our honeymoon.  We will probably wait to go on the larger, more expensive vacations until after our debt is paid off.   One of the places that I want to visit (the wife not so much) is Machu Picchu in Peru.

One of our shore excursions on our honeymoon cruise was a Mayan ruin called Xunantunich in Belize.  Below is one of the pictures we took of the site. 

 

Even before our cruise, I was always fascinated with the Mayan and Incan civilizations. It is amazing how advanced the civilizations were. Which is also why I’m fascinated by the old Egyptian civilization. It is crazy how these structures were built.  The craftsmanship is remarkable to this day.  I still don’t know how they built all these sites with the tools they had.  I have only been to the one ruin, but I plan on visiting many more in my lifetime. 

So back to Machu Picchu, there are many ways you can do the trip.  The easiest way is to take the touristy transportation straight to the site.  That one seems like it could be pretty boring, and you don’t get to really feel a true sense of adventure.  My buddy from work visited Machu Picchu a couple of years ago and recommends to do the Inca Trail Hike.  I agree with him.  The hike is 4 days 3 nights and totals 45km.   This means camping in the woods, in tents. Something that I don’t mind doing.  Especially for a great experience like this.   The only thing that will bug me, is the bugs.  I’m not a huge fan of spiders, especially the hairy looking ones.  Also centipedes are the creepiest thing ever, and my buddy showed me some pictures of them that were pretty disgusting.  Other than those things, I think this trip will be awesome and am looking forward to when we can afford it. 

What kind of trips are in your bucket list?  Are you fascinated by ancient civilizations like I am?

2 responses to “Dream Vacation…..1 of Them

  • Brian

    Machu Picchu is totally on my list. Don’t think I could do the hiking, it just isn’t my thing (see if you can find the episode of An Idiot Abroad where Karl Pilkington does it, it’s brilliant). When you go make sure you share your pictures!

    Places on my list at the moment include: Petra, Egypt, Easter Island, Angkor Wat, and the Great Wall. I’m sure I’m missing some, but that list will take me a while anyways!

    • debtntaxes

      Both the wife and I (and the pup) enjoy hiking. We have never done an overnighter though. I think it could be fun.
      The great wall and the egyptian pyramids are both on the list. So many beautiful and unique places in the world, not sure if I’ll get to visit them all.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

